2017 Winner of the CS-SIS Kenneth J. Hirsh Distinguished Service Award!

I am happy to announce that Vicki Szymczak, Library Director & Associate Professor of Law at the University of Hawaii, is the 2017 recipient of the CS-SIS Kenneth J. Hirsh Distinguished Service Award.

The Kenneth J. Hirsh Distinguished Service Award honors a CS-SIS member who has made outstanding contributions to the SIS, to AALL, and who is well regarded for their service to the profession. The inaugural award recipient was Ken Hirsh, in whose honor the award is named.

Vicki has been an active member of both CS-SIS and AALL. She has served on the CS board as both President (2008-2009) and Secretary/Treasurer (2003-2007). In AALL, Vicki currently serves on the Copyright Committee. Vicki regularly presents and moderates programs about topics relevant to CS members at the AALL Annual meeting. In all she does, Vicki is known as an enthusiastic and generous member of our community.

Please join me in congratulating Vicki for this well-deserved recognition of her commitment to the SIS, AALL, and the profession!

Cindy Bassett

CS-SIS Chair, 2016-17