CONNECTING: Mark Folmsbee to Receive Kenneth J. Hirsh Distinguished Service Award

The 2008 recipient of the CS-SIS Kenneth J. Hirsh Award is Mark Folmsbee, Associate Dean of Computer Services and Associate Director of the Law Library at the Washburn University School of Law. Mark has been a guiding force in law school and law library technology for nearly 20 years and has been a leader in the CS-SIS and AALL.

An early innovator, Mark established the AALLnet site online in the 1990’s. He hosted the site at Washburn University School of Law using Telnet and a Lynx Web client. He also hosted the first AALL email lists, including the listserv for the Automation and Scientific Development SIS – the predecessor to the Computing Services SIS.

Mark has been active at the national level in AALL by serving as a member of the AALL Executive Board from 1997-2000. He was chair of the CS-SIS from 1995-96. Additionally, Mark has been a frequent presenter at the AALL annual meetings and CS-SIS sponsored events. He has served on numerous AALL committees and committees and workgroups in the CS-SIS.

On a personal level, Mark has been an informal mentor and an advisor on technology matters to innumerable CS-SIS members and colleagues in the law librarian profession.The Hirsh Disinguished Service Award will be presented during the AALL Annual Meeting in Portland, Oregon in July 2008. The membership of the CS-SIS Awards Committee for 2007-2008 is Prano Amjadi, Therese Clarke Arado, and Sheri Lewis.